Health and Safety Competencies for NHS Managers

NHS Employers, July 2015

This guidance looks at the nine key competency areas required for managers, identifying the core skills for every managerial post. It will help health and safety professionals and representatives to assess whether their managers have the right skills and competencies to manage health and safety effectively.

Click here to view the full guidance.


Decisions of Value

King’s Fund Blog, 16 October 2014

This research from the NHS Confederation explores the importance of having the right relationships, behaviours and environment to deliver better value of care in the NHS . It identifies a number of different factors that support good decision-making, focusing on the judgments made every day between clinicians and managers.

Click here for further information.